bareMinerals Products

January Sample Update

Hi guys! Wow, I can not believe that it is already the end of January! I have a feeling that 2017 is going to fly by just as fast as 2016 did.

I’ve been experimenting a lot over the last month and I thought I would highlight some of my hits and misses for the month.

First up is the bareMinerals Up Close & Beautiful 30-day Complexion Starter Kit. Let me start this off by saying that this was a revisit for me however I have not used bareMinerals products for about 2-3 years now. I was a die hard fan growing up as it was the ONLY makeup my mom would let me wear starting at the age of 13. About 3 years ago I started getting really frustrated with the product as I noticed my skin’s texture was changing and I just didn’t know what to do with it, enter the world of Sephora and well now we are here today.

bareMinerals Up Close & Beautiful Kit

The kit I purchased was in the fairly light shade range. (I’m pretty pale) The kit includes a mini Prime Time Original Foundation Primer, Original Foundation Broad Spectrum SPF 15 in Fairly Light, Concealer Broad Spectrum SPF 20 in Bisque, Original Mineral Veil Finishing Powder, Mini Full Flawless Face Brush, and Mini Concealer Brush.

bareMinerals Products

Let’s start with the not so great, okay bad, part of this kit. For me this was the Original Foundation Primer. I use to Love Love Love this primer but somewhere down the road I started noticing the formula kept separating on me and just sitting on my counter it would turn into an oily greasy mess. Whelp, today is no different. This primer feels like it has a silicone base to it and it is said to “smooth away flaky dryness, fine lines, excess oil, and the look of enlarged pores.” I did see a bit of pore minimizing but my dryness was not vanished, better, but not solved. I think this would be a tolerable primer had it not separated on me time and time again.

 

Product Rating:

two-star-rating

The actual powder products were a little bit better than I remembered them to be. However it takes a lot of work to build up the desired coverage that you would want because you have to apply the product in thin layers. I have a few areas of acne scaring and can be a little red in the face at times and it just would take too long to build up the look I was trying to achieve. This does not work well for me as I only give myself 10-15 min to do my makeup in the AM before running out the door for work. Over all the powders were smooth and creamy once you applied them.

bareMinerals Original FoundationbareMinerals Mineral VeilbareMinerals Concealer

Product Rating:

4-out-of-5-stars-rating

I love the little brushes they are keepers for sure! I’m still using the concealer brush with my NARS concealer and I use the other for buffing in stick foundation and blush. I also love that they are small. Perfect purse size.

bareMinerals Mini Brushes

Product Rating:

5-star-rating

Another product I’ve been trying out is one that I purchased with my Sephora points and it is the Clinique take the day off cleansing balm.

Clinique take the day off cleansing balm

It has an interesting smell to it that I wouldn’t say is terrible or intense but if you are sensitive to smells you might want to smell test it first. So the cool thing about this balm is that as you rub it onto the skin it turns into an oil, in turn, melting the makeup off of your face. It’s a pretty neat concept.

According to Sephora’s website “This makeup remover effortlessly dissolves even the most tenacious makeup and sunscreen. Its non-greasy, non-drying, lightweight formula nourishes skin, cleanses thoroughly, and rinses off completely, so all that’s left is a fresh, dewy glow.” Now from my experience I did find this product to be a little greasy well because duh it’s a balm that turns into an oil. I also had a hard time making sure that the product was completely rinsed (that could just be because I’m challenged at washing my face over a sink). I would always use my regular face was after this just get off every trace of residue.

All in all it was a decent product and if you are looking for a high-end, inexpensive, cleansing balm then this could be a good one for you.

Product Rating:

4-out-of-5-stars-rating

So this last product I must confess I’ve been using for several months but I’m almost out of my sample bottle and thought I would share it all with you. It is the Make Up For Ever Sens’Eyes, waterproof eye makeup remover. I love Make Up For Ever’s XL water proof liners, they stay on all day and don’t smudge and blow Urban Decay’s 24/7 liner out of the water.

 

This is a gel like product that doesn’t have any smell to it. I typically apply it to a cotton round and then rub the makeup off. BUT (I know always a but right) it was rather difficult to get my eyeliner and mascara off and when it did come off it was just smeared all over my under eye area. I even tried the “soaking” method where you use 2 cotton rounds and set them on your eye for a few seconds then rub, that worked better but not much. So needless to say I don’t highly recomend this product. If you are going to buy a high-end eye makeup remover, splurge on the Lancôme BI-FACIL – Double-Action Eye Makeup Remover. I’ve just started testing this one and it is already so much better.

Product Rating:3-star-rating

So there you have it my product samples from January! I will promise to post more regularly about my makeup routines and different products that I am trying/trying to cycle through as we progress forward. Until then I hope you all had a wonderful January.

 

 

Leave a Reply

